Student Parliament (StuPa)

Contact: studentenparlament@shsg.ch

 

The Student Parliament (StuPa) is the legislative body of the Student Union. It consists of Committee representatives (e.g. School of Management) and Programme representatives (e.g. Bachelor Business Administrator or Assessment). The former are elected by all students, while the latter are elected only by students of the respective programme. In coordination with the Board, the Student Parliament defines the official opinion of the Student Union in university-related matters and is authorized to make decisions in all matters that have not been delegated to other bodies. It grants the Board its democratic legitimacy and assumes a control function by authorizing the strategy, budget, and bills of the Board. The Student Parliament further is responsible for the composition and duties of other student bodies and elects student representatives into committees of the university management (e.g. research committee or scholarship fund committee).

 

Composition of the StuPa

 

The Students’ Parliament is made up of Committee representatives and Programme representatives. 

 

Committee representatives

The Committee representatives are elected by the entire student body in spring. They take part in the university management committees’ sessions and hold full voting rights. These committees include the different schools (departments) and the Senate of the University (which is comprised, among others, of all the tenured professors).

 

Programme representatives

The Programme representatives are elected by students of the respective programmes. Each programme (e.g. Bachelor BWL, Master in Banking & Finance, etc.) elects a representative. Assessment year students elect multiple representatives – two for the math elective, one for the law elective and one for the English track. Programme representatives ensure the exchange between the students and the respective programme management as well as the Student Union.

Studentenparlament (StuPa)

Kontakt: studentenparlament@shsg.ch

Das Studentenparlament (StuPa) ist das legislative Organ der SHSG und besteht aus den Vertretenden der Gremien (School of Management, School of Finance, School of Economics and Political Science, School of Law, School of Humanities and Social Sciences und Senat) sowie den Programmvertretenden (bspw. des Bachelor in BWL oder der Assessmentstufe). Die Vertretenden der Gremien werden von der Gesamtheit der Studierenden gewählt, die Programmvertretenden von den Studierenden der entsprechenden Programme. In Abstimmung mit dem Vorstand legt das Parlament die universitätspolitische Meinung der SHSG fest und ist zur Beschlussfassung in sämtlichen Angelegenheiten befugt, die nicht durch die Statuten anderen Organen übertragen sind. Durch die Genehmigung des Programmes, des Budgets sowie der angefallenen Rechnung des Vorstandes nimmt es eine Kontrollfunktion diesem gegenüber wahr. Darüber hinaus ist das Parlament insbesondere für die Zusammensetzung und Tätigkeit der weiteren studentischen Organe zuständig und wählt die Vertretenden in die Kommissionen der universitären Selbstverwaltung (z.B. Forschungs- oder Mensakommission).

 

Zusammensetzung des StuPa's

Das StuPa setzt sich aus Vertretenden der Gremien und Programmvertretenden zusammen. Geleitet wird das StuPa vom Präsidium, bestehend aus Präsident/in, Vize-Präsident/in und Aktuar/in:

struktur_stupa

Aufbau des Studentenparlaments

 

Gremienvertreter:

Die Vertretenden der Gremien werden von allen Studierenden im Frühjahr gewählt. Sie sitzen als vollwertige Mitglieder/innen in den Gremien der Universität ein. Dies sind die fünf Schools (School of Management, School of Finance, School of Economics and Political Science, School of Law und School of Humanities and Social Sciences) und der Senat der Universität (in dem unter anderem alle ordentlichen Professoren einsitzen).

 

Programmvertreter:

Die Programmvertretenden werden von den Studierenden des jeweiligen Programms gewählt. Jedes Programm (sei es der Bachelor BWL, der Master in Banking & Finance oder der Doktor in Organisation und Kultur, etc.) wählt einen Vertretenden. Die Assessmentstufe wählt zwei Vertretende mit dem Wahlpflichtfach Mathematik, einen in Recht und einen für den englischen Track. Diese Programmvertretenden sorgen für den Austausch zwischen der SHSG und der entsprechenden Programmleitung, sowie für die Vertretung der Programmstudierenden gegenüber der SHSG und dem Programm.