Welcome to the HSG

Congratulations!

In just a few weeks you will be a student at the University of St.Gallen (HSG). We would like to warmly welcome you in the community of the students at HSG. On the following pages you can find the most important information for your start.

Please find the information provided by the university as well as the numerous services provided by the Student Union (SHSG) to prepare your first weeks in St.Gallen.
 
If you have any further question, please don't hesitate to contact us
 
via mail
studentenschaft@shsg.ch 
or via phone
+41 71 224 2510.
 
We are looking forwarf to welcoming you on campus!
 
Yours,
The SHSG

Freshers’ Week

One week before the start of the semester the mandatory Freshers’ Week for all new students of the assessment year takes place. During this week the students work on a case study with a different subject every year. Alongside the case study, students can familiarise with the academic environment. Students can benefit the most from establishing their first contacts, which often turn into longterm friendships. On the webpage of the University of St.Gallen you can find more information about the current case study subject and the exact program of the week.

Kick-off Days

The Kick-off Days of the University of St.Gallen are directed towards new master and PhD students and also towards re-matriculated students on the bachelor level (second degree studies). Those days include the welcoming and introduction at the University of St.Gallen. The students get information on the campus infrastructure including the library, an introduction into the IT tools and landscape and an overview over the important aspects of the study set-up. Please find more information on the Kick-off Days on the webpage of the Unversity of St.Gallen.

Tips for Your First Day

We recommend you save this website as a bookmark. As soon as you get your HSG login, you will be able to follow your favorite clubs at HSG, stay up to date with the latest news, inform yourself about upcoming events and even save personal links in a quick access tool bar. It will provide you with a quick access to the campus plan, canteen menu, sports classes offered and the most important HSG portals. Additionally, it is useful to bookmark the Course Catalogue, which might come in handy during the add-and-drop period when you are looking for better courses and lecture times. Also check out the official HSG Student Guide

Willkommen an der HSG

Herzlichen Glückwunsch!
 
In nur wenigen Wochen wirst du an der Universität St.Gallen (HSG) studieren. Als neues Mitglied in der Gemeinschaft der Studierenden der HSG möchten wir dich herzlich begrüssen. Auf den folgenden Seiten findest du die wichtigsten Informationen für deinen Start.
Neben den zahlreichen Angeboten der Studentenschaft (SHSG) findest du auch die wichtigsten Informationen seitens der Universität, um dir einen möglichst reibungslosen Start zu ermöglichen.
 
Solltest du Fragen haben, deren Antwort du hier nicht beantwortet findest, kannst du uns jederzeit
 
per Mail
studentenschaft@shsg.ch
oder telefonisch unter
+41 71 224 25 10
erreichen.
 
Wir freuen uns, dich bald an der HSG begrüssen zu dürfen!
 
Deine SHSG
 

Freshers' Week / Startwoche

Eine Woche vor Semesterbeginn findet die obligatorische Startwoche für alle neu eintretenden Studierenden des Assessmentjahres statt. Während dieser Woche wird eine Fallstudie bearbeitet, die jedes Jahr ein neues Thema behandelt. Daneben werden die Studierenden mit dem universitären Umfeld vertraut gemacht. Am meisten profitieren die Teilnehmer jedoch durch das Knüpfen von Kontakte zu anderen Studierenden. Nicht selten entstehen in der Startwoche Freundschaften, die weit über die akademische Zeit hinausgehen. Auf der Website der Universität findest du weitere Informationen über das Thema der aktuellen Startwoche und den genauen Ablauf.

Kick-off Days

Die HSG Kick-off Days richten sich an die neueintretenden Master- und PHD-Studenten aber auch an die re-immatrikulierten Studierenden auf Bachelorstufe (Zweitstudium Bachelor). Die Kick-off Days dienen der Einführung in das akademische Umfeld der Universität St. Gallen. Dazu gehören ein Überblick über die Campusinfrastruktur inklusive Bibliothek, eine Einführung in die IT-Tools genauso wie auch Informationen über alle wichtigen Aspekte des Studienaufbaus. Detailliertere Informationen über die HSG Kick-off Days können direkt der Website der Universität St. Gallen entnommen werden.

Tipps für den ersten Tag

Wir empfehlen dir, diese Website als Lesezeichen zu speichern. Sobald du dein HSG-Login hast, kannst du damit deinen Lieblingsvereinen folgen, wirst immer über das Neuste informiert, verpasst keinen Event und kannst sogar deine persönlichen Links speicheren. Mit ihr hast du immer schnellen Zugriff auf den Campus-Plan, den Mensa-Plan, das Sportangebot oder die wichtigsten Portale der HSG. Auch lohnt es sich den Kurskatalog zu speichern, damit du in der Add-und-Drop-Phase schnell nach besseren Kursen und Zeiten suchen kannst. Bitte beachte zudem den offiziellen HSG Student Guide für weitere Informationen.